Dating Orrefors Glass

Orrefors used different signature systems for different types of glass. In the following pages we have tried to give as much information on the different types of signatures and dating systems as possible. Orrefors used different numbering systems with most of their art glass. The numbers work like serial numbers or date codes: from the number or number and letter combination, you can see exactly in which year the piece was made by Orrefors.  

For each technique used by Orrefors, there is a link to a special page where you can find all the known date codes and serial numbers that were used at Orrefors. Just click the links in the text to get to the correct page. 

In no way does the list below claim to be complete and 100% correct, but it should help to give you a good indication about the age of your glass.  As we learn more about the different dating and signing systems in use, we will add these to our website.

Designer Signature Letters

Until 1980:

—Olle Alberius

AS—Asta Strömberg

B— Gunnar Cyrén

C— Anonymous

D — Ingeborg Lundin

F—Edvin Öhrström

FB—Fritz Blomqvist

G—Simon Gate

H—Edvard Hald

HW—Heinrich Wollmann

J—Jan Johansson

K—Henning Koppel

KB—Knut Bergkvist

KD—Fritz Kurz

L—Vicke Lindstrand

N—Nils Landberg

P—Sven Palmqvist

R—Carl Fagerlund

S—John Selbing

T—Lars Hellsten

V— Eva Englund

From 1980 onward:

OA —Olle Alberius

AB —Arne Branzell

AN—Anne Nilsson

BJ—Berit Johansson

EE—Eva Englund

EH—Edvard Hald

EL —Erika Lagerbielke

EÖ —Edvin Öhrström

GC —Gunnar Cyrén

SG —Simon Gate

HK —Henning Koppel

IL —Ingeborg Lundin

JJ —Jan Johansson

JS —John Selbing

KGT —Klas-Göran Tinbäck

LH —Lars Hellsten

NL —Nils Landberg

SP —Sven Palmqvist

VK— Vicke Lindstrand

Orrefors Graal

The Orrefors Graal Glass went through several stages of development to get to the Graal technique that we are used to today. Basically, the first Graal pieces were developed at Orrefors in 1916, and the same technique was used until 1936. At the beginning of the 1930s, Edvard Hald and Vicke Lindstrand experimented with the Graal technique and came up with the "new" Graal method, which basically meant that the layer of clear glass that is applied is thicker. There are several numbering / codes systems that were used.

If you want to date your Orrefors Graal glass piece, follow this link to see all different Orrefors Graal glass numbering systems. 

Orrefors Slip Graal (or Slipgraal)

The Slip Graal technique was developed in the late 1930s. In 1940, the technique got its own numbering system. Edvard Hald developed this technique further with Heinz Richter to form the Aquagraal technique. These vases did not have their own numbering system, but were included in the Orrefors Slipgraal serial number / date code system. Early Slip Graal pieces have the letter "S" in front of their serial / date code. From 1953 onward this letter was omitted, since the pieces were clearly marked Slipgraal anyway.

In order to date your Orrefors Slipgraal glass, follow this link where you can find all the date codes / serial numbers of the Orrefors Slip graal pieces.  


Orrefors Ariel

Almost all well-known artists / designers at Orrefors worked in the Ariel technique. The most famous pieces by Edvin Ohrstrom, Ingeborg Lundin, Vicke Lindstrand, Olle Alberius, and Lars Hellsten are Ariel pieces. All Ariel pieces are signed with the artists name and a serial number / date code which allows to exactly date the piece. Early pieces had the production date mentioned seperately on them.  

If you want to date your Orrefors Ariel piece, you can find all the information on the Orrefors Ariel coding system here

Orrefors Kraka

Sven Palmqvist inveted the Kraka technique in 1944. Early Kraka pieces were mostly of a single color, white being the most prevalent. Orrefors produced Kraka glass pieces until 1986. From 1960 until 1986 several models were mass-produced. Palmqvist himself produced Kraka pieces until 1972. We have all the date codes and serial numbers that enable you to date your Orrefors Kraka piece. 

If you want to date your Orrefore Kraka piece, you can find all the information on the Orrefors Kraka date codes and serial numbers here. 

Orrefors Ravenna

Apart from the Kraka technique, Sven Palmqvist also invented the Ravenna technique for Orrefors. He produced Ravenna pieces himself until 1981, but Orrefors continued to mass-produce certain Ravenna models until 1989. We have collected all the date codes, serial and model numbers that enable you to date your Orrefors Ravenna piece. 

If you want to date your Orrefors Ravenna piece, you can find all the information on the Orrefors Ravenna date codes and serial numbers here.


Other pieces

Since 1935 a combination of a letter and a number is used for dating. It was first used exclusively for cut glass, but later was used in a broader sense.

A1 —1935

A2 —1936

A3 —1937

A4 —1938

A5 —1939

A6 —1940

A7 —1941

A8 —1942

A9 —1943

B1 —1944

B2 —1945

B3 —1946

B4 —1947

B5 —1948

B6 —1949

B7 —1950

B8 —1951

B9 —1952

C1 —1953

C2 —1954

C3 —1955

C4 —1956

C5 —1957

C6 —1958

C7 —1959

C8 —1960

C9 —1961

D1 —1962

D2 —1963

D3 —1964

D4 —1965

D5 —1966

D6 —1967

D7 —1968

D8 —1969

D9 —1970

E1 —1971

E2 —1972

E3 —1973

E4 —1974

E5 —1975

E6 —1976

E7 —1977

E8 —1978

E9 —1979

F1 —1980

F2 —1981

F3 —1982

F4 —1983

F5 —1984

Our website is protected by DMC Firewall!